Induction Ceremony

Join us in July of 2016

The National Distance Running Hall of Fame is located in Utica, New York, along a stretch of the New York State Thruway that could be called "Hall of Fame Corridor." Established in 1998, it currently has 40 members, including Bill Rodgers, Frank Shorter, Alberto Salazar, Grete Waitz, Kathrine Switzer, Joan Benoit Samuelson and the late Steve Prefontaine. The Hall is dedicated to honoring the sport of distance running and the athletes who have made contributions to the sport, from top runners and the most decorated athletes, to those who pushed the sport's barriers and eventually broke them. The Hall honors these athletes' talents, initiative and drive. The Hall's induction is celebrated at a periodic ceremony held in conjunction with the Boilermaker Road Race during Hall of Fame Weekend, the second weekend each July, in Utica, New York. The Hall of Fame offers membership opportunities for road races, clubs, organizations and individuals, at a variety of levels. More information on this, or other information, can be found at National Distance Running Hall of Fame.