Home ยป Press

2012 Boilermaker 15 K Scholarship Winners Announced

Jun. 1, 2012

June 1, 2012 (Utica, NY)-The Boilermaker Road Race is pleased to announce the winners of the 8th Annual Boilermaker Scholarship. Four of the top scholastic distance runners in Central New York are the winners of the 2012 Boilermaker 15 K Scholarships.  Clinton High School runner, Adam Bankert and New Hartford runner, Rebecca LaPorte will be honored for "Outstanding Achievement in Distance Running." Evan Smith, Holland Patent High School, and Andrea Szewczyk, Ilion High School, won scholarships for "Outstanding Commitment in Distance Running.

Officials from the Boilermaker 15K will present $1000 checks to each recipient at a breakfast ceremony on Friday, June 1, 2012 at the Utica Radisson at 8:00 a.m.  The scholarship winners also receive complimentary entries for the 2012 Boilermaker 15K and will start the race on July 8, 2012 with the elite runners.

Adam Bankert placed 7th in the 2011 Section III Cross Country Championship. He was a first team All-New York State selection. Adam will attend St. Lawrence University.

Rebecca LaPorte is a 3-time MVP for New Hartford Cross Country & Track. She was the 1st Team TVL All-League Champion. Rebecca will attend SUNY Binghamton.

Evan Smith was the Section III Nordic Ski Champion in 2012. He helped lead the Golden Knights Cross-Country team to a NYS Championship in 2012. Evan will attend St. Lawrence University.

Andrea Szewczyk was named to the All-Center State Conference Cross Country team for six consecutive years. She was the Center State Champion in the 1500M and the 3000M. Andrea will attend MVCC and RIT.

The Boilermaker 15K began the high school scholarship program in 2005. Since its inception, thirty-two scholarships have been awarded.