Home ยป Press

2016 Boilermaker Scholarship Winners Announced

Jun. 3, 2016

The Boilermaker Road Race is pleased to announce the winners of the 12th Annual Boilermaker Scholarship. Four of the top scholastic distance runners in Central New York are the winners of the 2016 Boilermaker Scholarships.  Hamilton High School runner, Sage Hurta and Adirondack Central School runner, Ryan O'Rourke will be honored for "Outstanding Achievement in Distance Running." Justyna Wilkinson from Whitesboro Central School and Connor Ludwin from Holland Patent High School won scholarships for "Outstanding Commitment to Distance Running.

Officials from the Boilermaker presented $1,500 checks to each recipient at a breakfast ceremony on Friday, June 3th at the Boilermaker Office at 8:00 a.m.  The scholarship winners also receive complimentary entries for the 2016 Boilermaker 15K and will start the race with the elite runners on July 10, 2016.

The Boilermaker began the high school scholarship program in 2005. Since its inception, fifty scholarships have been awarded.